India vs Afghanistan 1st T20I: Match Preview, Prediction, Squads

Photo of author

By Calvin S. Nelson

The highlight shall be solely on the returning Rohit Sharma as his long-time colleague Virat Kohli pulled out of the opening T20I in opposition to Afghanistan attributable to “private causes” forward of the primary ever white-ball collection between the 2 groups, starting in Mohali on Thursday. Kohli, although, shall be obtainable for the second and third T20 Worldwide. India head coach Rahul Dravid attributed Kohli’s pull-out to “household causes” earlier than he addressed media. Each the stalwarts are returning to the shortest format after 14 months and shall be keenly noticed within the three-match rubber, which shall be India’s final earlier than the T20 World Cup in June, giving the staff extra readability on the place it stands forward of the ICC occasion in Americas.

Nonetheless, the ultimate 15 shall be picked on the premise of core group’s efficiency within the IPL, which precedes the World Cup.

Dravid stated Rohit will open the batting with younger Yashasvi Jaiswal in opposition to Afghanistan.

Rohit and Kohli, after he returns, are a certainty on this squad however the achieved duo would first prefer to get essentially the most out of the video games in opposition to Afghanistan, who can be with out their star spinner Rashid Khan.

Khan underwent a again surgical procedure in November final 12 months and continues to be recuperating.

“He’s not completely match. We’ll miss him within the collection. We’ll wrestle with out Rashid however one must be prepared for any sort of scenario,” Afghanistan captain Ibrahim Zadran stated on the eve of the series-opener, hoping that others within the aspect would step up.

The main target, nevertheless, will firmly be on Rohit, simply among the many largest crowd-puller. His presence on the sector can be a giant purpose for the Mohali crowd to courageous the prevailing chilly wave.

Rohit, who will even captain the aspect, shall be anticipated to hold on along with his extremely aggressive method within the powerplay like he confirmed within the ODI World Cup.

The staff, having returned from South Africa final week, solely assembled on Wednesday night for the collection.

The likes of Jaiswal and Tilak Varma stay within the squad after performing top-order duties within the drawn collection in opposition to South Africa, and so is Shubman Gill.

Throughout codecs, Gill didn’t have the best of occasions within the Rainbow nation and shall be seeking to pile on the runs in opposition to Afghanistan with the others respiration down his neck.

In his hardest take a look at but in a blossoming T20 profession, Rinku Singh proved his value within the South African circumstances and shall be a key participant for India within the middle-order, particularly within the absence of the injured duo of Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya.

With Ishan Kishan apparently ignored, Jitesh Sharma and Sanju Samson are the 2 wicket-keeping choices for the squad.

Having donned the gloves within the earlier two collection, Jitesh is predicted to start out forward of Samson, who finds himself again within the fold after the brief collection in Eire final August.

Shivam Dube too is again and may function within the eleven as a tempo bowling all-rounder whereas three specialist tempo choices are Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan and Mukesh Kumar.

Kuldeep Yadav will lead the spin assault and different choices to select from are Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel and Washington Sundar.


India can be anticipated to win comfortably in their very own circumstances however Afghanistan will give them a run for his or her cash.

Having lately exceeded all expectations of their giant-killing run in the course of the ODI World Cup in India, Afghanistan shall be excessive on confidence in a format that fits them essentially the most.

Barring Rashid’s injury-forced absence, the staff is at full power after the likes Mujeeb Zadran, Naveen-Ul Haq and Fazalhaq Farooqi sorted their contractual points with the nation’s cricket board.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Aghanistan: Ibrahim Zadran (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (WK), Ikram Alikhil (WK), Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Janat, Azmatullah Omarzai, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Fareed Ahmad, Naveen Ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem, Qais Ahmad, Gulbadin Naib and Rashid Khan.

Match begins at 7pm (native time).

(Apart from the headline, this story has not been edited by Perrinworlds workers and is revealed from a syndicated feed.)

Matters talked about on this article

Leave a Comment