Sundance Institute Board of Trustees Provides 4 New Members

Photo of author

By Calvin S. Nelson

The Sundance Institute has added 4 new additions to the Board of Trustees. Tessa Thompson, Pete Nicks, Nina Fialkow, and Kimberly Steward will assist steer the group and act in an advisory capability. The brand new trustees will work intently with board chair Ebs Burnough and CEO Joana Vicente.

“As Sundance Institute continues to reply to the wants of impartial artists, we welcome these new members of our Board, every of whom has an unimaginable dedication to impartial movie and a protracted historical past with the Institute,” Burnough mentioned in a press release. “Collectively, the board is poised to determine new and strengthened methods to uplift impartial storytellers.”

“We’re so happy to have Tessa, Pete, Nina, and Kimberly be a part of as trustees on the board of Sundance Institute. They create experience and beneficial views that will probably be significant as we proceed to evolve as a cultural group,” mentioned Vicente.

Thompson is an award-winning actor and producer, Nicks is an award-winning documentary filmmaker, Fialkow is an award-winning producer and Steward is Academy Award-nominated producer, entrepreneur and philanthropist.

“Each the Sundance Movie Pageant and the Institute have served as a creative dwelling for me all through my profession. I’m proud to develop this journey by becoming a member of the board to eagerly serve a group that has been so extremely impactful to me and numerous others,” mentioned Thompson.

Nicks added, “I drove out to my first Sundance in 1999 in what was probably a extremely unreliable automobile. However I made it and received to see my movie college professor Jon Else hoist what was then often known as the Filmmaker’s Trophy for his documentary ‘Sing Sooner: The Stagehands’ Ring Cycle.’ I used to be hooked and fortunate sufficient to be invited over time with my very own movies. I’m now past thrilled to affix the board of trustees and play a job within the evolution of this magical group.”

Steward shared, “Sundance Institute is likely one of the most influential organizations that helps rising inventive expertise. They’ve supported my profession and firm since its inception in 2013. I’m honored to be part of a group that gives sources and applications to incubate and curate numerous expertise on-screen and off-screen.”

Fialkow mentioned, “As a longtime attendee of the Sundance Movie Pageant and supporter of the institute, I’m thrilled to affix the board of trustees and look ahead to being totally engaged.”

The 4 new members be a part of present board members Robert Redford, President & Founder; Burnough, Chair; Sean Bailey, Vice Chair; Gigi Pritzker, Vice Chair; Jason Blum, Kimberlé Crenshaw, Philipp Engelhorn, Caterina Pretend, Jeanne Donovan Fisher, Robert J. Frankenberg, Patrick Gaspard, Donna Gruneich, Cindy Harrell Horn, Uzodinma Iweala, Amanda Kelso, Charles D. King, Lyn Davis Lear, Ann Lewnes, Wonya Lucas, Alejandro Ramírez Magaña, Shripriya Mahesh, Pat Mitchell, Invoice Plapinger, Amy Redford, Geoffrey Ok. Sands, Nadine Schiff-Rosen, Barry Tyerman and Lulu Wang.

The Sundance Institute board contains 32 folks, of whom 14 self-identify as BIPOC. The board is 44% males and 56% girls.

Leave a Comment